Skip to content

Pizza in NYC

The one thing I knew about New York style pizza is that you’re supposed to fold it over, across the short edge, when you eat it. Now, I thought this was just a tradition or convenient way to get more in your mouth. But this week, I’ve learned it’s pretty much a necessity. If you don’t want the slice flopping onto your forearm and toppings falling off the crust, better watch and do it like everyone else in the place.

This method was particularly helpful to indulging in the amazing goodness that is Motorino Pizza in the East Village. Just a narrow space with less than 10 tables, this tiny place serves up enormous satisfaction.

Motorino pizzas

Motorino's Brussel Sprout pizza & Soprasetta Picante

I took the server’s recommendation and went for the brussel sprout pizza. It’s a great seasonal concept and I do love some good oven roasted sprouts. In this preparation they come along with two more of my favorite things: smoked pancetta and garlic!

These toppings are a great marriage alone, but it was the crust made this pizza a very special experience. In the center, it was “barely there” thin but not soggy. It gained density as you moved out and turned into a sturdy yet soft crust on the edge, bubbled up and browned in just a few spots. And it tasted JUST like you would want. It played the supporting role, letting the toppings take the spotlight but providing amazing texture and fullness in your mouth. It was fantastic!!

The cheese was fior di latte, a mozzarella made from cow’s milk instead of water buffalo. Combined with the meaty slices of pancetta and the crispy leaves of brussel sprouts, it was a texture tango in my mouth. I wanted to eat the entire pizza.

But in total Missy-style, I had ordered not one, but yes two pizzas and had to give them both a shot. The Soprasetta Picante just sounded so fun to say that I figured it might be just as fun to eat.

I wanted to try something that would be similar to a traditional pizza, and the soprasetta was the

Slice

Soprasetta Picant slice, Motorino

pick. An italian salami, soprasetta is not as spicy as pepperoni thus why this pizza comes with a little kick. On top of the tomato sauce, cheese and yes even more garlic, comes the chili flakes. They give just enough spice to grab your attention but don’t overpower the rest of the flavors. And then there was that beautiful crust again, just doing a phenomenal job of providing the perfect foundation. It really MADE the pizza.

Motorino was outstanding. Definitely some of the best pizza I’ve ever enjoyed. So good that I want to go back today and try some others like the Cherry Stone Clam pizza or the Cremini and Sweet Sausage! I will be dreaming about this place for a while.

Patsy's Pizza

Patsy's Pizza

Of course, being such a famous food of New York, I couldn’t sample pizza from just one single place on this trip. I felt the need to experience a few. So just a day before, I ate at one of the Patsy’s Pizza locations. We topped it with pepperoni, onion, mushrooms and olives. It was great. The crust was nice, the ingredients were quality and we enjoyed it a lot. It didn’t leave me devising a plan to go back, like Motorino. But it was definitely good pizza.

I suppose I’ll have to say goodbye to my new friend Motorino (named after a motorized scooter, of all things) and head back home. But you can bet I will keep in touch, checking out the seasonal menu to see what other fantistic creations are pleasing diners in NYC. And I’ll be back again someday to rekindle my little romance with that amazing crust.
Motorino on Urbanspoon

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. I was recommended this blog by my cousin. I’m not positive whether this put up is written by him as no one else understand such unique about my difficulty. You’re incredible! Thank you!

    February 3, 2012
  2. If you dont mind, exactly where do you host your web site? I am searching for a good host and your site appears to be quick and up all the time

    May 26, 2012

Leave a comment