Skip to content

Brunch at @ bluestem

It’s taken a couple of years, but I finally made it to Bluestem for Sunday Brunch. I was smack-dab in the middle of foodie heaven devouring the upscale version of some breakfast classics. At the same time, I was kicking myself for missing out on this goodness for far too long!Blivers

Even during the light of day, the Bluestem dining room is cozy and warm. The menu for brunch is simpler than their dinner offerings. You can pick from a few first courses – my soup of the day was an amazing butternut squash. Then the bulk of the menu is made up of breakfast fare, some downhome cooking and creative originals.Blox

It’s hard to resist lox and bagels, and as expected, Bluestem does this just a little better than anyone else. The salmon was superb. The bagels were buttered and lightly seasoned adding another layer of flavor to this simply decadent dish.Bbng

My absolute favorite, and the meal I can’t wait to have again, was the biscuits and gravy. Served with a small piece of fried chicken breast and scrambled eggs, this treat really filled me up but left me wanting more delicious bites cause I couldn’t get enough. The biscuits were absolutely perfect! Thick and dense but still moist and crumbly….just fantastic! The sausage gravy was ultra-flavorful with nice chunks of meat. My mouth is watering as I write this!

BbeneMy bite of eggs Benedict was lovely, but I kept forking up more and more of something I consider to be a non-traditional brunch entrée:  chicken livers. The nice chunks of meat were lightly breaded and served with sautéed onions over creamy grits. It was topped off with a savory brown gravy. The liver breading was slightly crisp but didn’t mask the tender, rich meat.

BchxliverEven the bloody maries at bluestem were step above with a pop of spice in a well balanced tomato mixture.

While I can’t say I was surprised at how incredible the food was – Kansas City has come to expect great things from this place – I will say, it was even better than I expected. And don’t let the “fine dining” label scare you. Entrees are priced from just $10 to $14, and you won’t be hungry when you’re done.Bmaries

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

