Skip to content

Thankful Sandwiches

Well I must say, I’m a little sad not to be in my own warm kitchen this Thanksgiving morning to see the sun peek through the windows onto my overfilled holiday counters, and to smell the sweet potatoes and pumpkin bread baking in the oven.  Instead I have a balmy Pacific breeze blowing across my face, warm sun on my feet and a view than can’t be described with words.

This year’s Thanksgiving morning view

I’m definitely not complaining about a relaxing trip to Mexico, but I have a little itch to get into the kitchen and make something deserving of this grand day. We will have a holiday dinner dropped off for the family later today. It was entitled “Thanksgiving with a Twist”. We’ll see what that means…..fingers are crossed for something tasty and fun.

No matter what creative touch our surprise Thanksgiving dinner might have, I’m sure I can make some mean creation with the leftovers tomorrow. Options for soups and casseroles are endless, but sometimes it’s best to keep it simple.

Truth be told, I already tasted an outstanding leftover-inspired sandwich last week that somewhat satisfied my Thanksgiving cravings. And you can bet I will be making it in my own kitchen sometime soon. Below I will share that hearty recipe, as well as my favorite turkey sandwich creation.

Wherever you are spending this beautiful holiday, I pray your heart is full of gratitude and your tummy stuffed with some fantastic fare you can be thankful to share.

Abundance Between Slices

  • Whole wheat bread
  • Sliced turkey
  • Carmelized onions
  • Stuffing
  • Gouda cheese or brie
  • Cranberry sauce or grape jelly

Warm stuffing in microwave, toast bread, assemble each side of sandwich, warm all ingredients open-faced in the toaster oven until cheese is melted. Combine both sides and enjoy!

Cranky Turkey Sandwich

  • Texas Toast, buttered
  • Sliced Turkey
  • Cream Cheese
  • Cranberry sauce or cranberry jelly
  • Alfalfa Sprouts or shredded lettuce

Assemble sandwich and toast each side in a skillet on the stove top on medium heat until browned. Inside can still be chilled – the temperature contrast is a great touch.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

