Skip to content

Bacon Roasted Green Beans

It’s sometimes the hardest dish to make exciting. When I’m tasked with making the side dish for a dinner party, I always want it to be a step above. But sometimes adding too much to a quality vegetable, just adds calories and heaviness.

A few weeks ago, the menu was basic: steaks, salmon and twice baked potatoes. The side dish was up to me and I was on a search to find something simple yet superb.

The answer came from a coworker who suggested roasting green beans. Sounded pretty good and, better yet, pretty easy. So I searched for a few recipes, took the parts I liked from a few and came up with a fantastic creation I call Bacon Roasted Green Beans.

It’s pretty simple:

  1. Fry up 5-8 slices of bacon, set aside grease.
  2. Snip green beans then toss in olive oil and a few tablespoons of the bacon grease.
  3. Roast in the oven for approximately 10 minutes at 400 degrees. Cook until beans are tender but still crisp.
  4. Top with crumbled bacon and almond slivers.
One Comment Post a comment
  1. Super Dave #

    Sorry but this to me is the best green bean recipe but then it’s my own so why wouldn’t I think so

    Super Dave’s Green Beans

    3 – 16oz bags frozen green beans
    ½ – pound bacon cut to bite size (I prefer the thick sliced)
    1 – medium onion sliced or chopped your choice (I slice the whole onion in 8ths from the top)
    2 – tablespoons of lemon juice
    1- teaspoon of Kosher salt (optional)
    Ground black peppercorns to taste
    1 – tablespoon of garlic powder (I use McCormick California Style)
    2 – tablespoons of sugar
    1- tablespoon of vinegar or my choice is 3 tablespoons red wine
    2- cans of chicken broth 14oz size
    1/2 – cup pepper strips frozen C&W brand cut in about ½ inch strips(May use fresh if so use red, green, & yellow peppers)
    2-3 tablespoons of corn starch to thicken liquid to taste

    In large pot add bacon to cook over medium heat till cooked about half way DON”T CRISP THE BACON. Then add the onion and pepper strips and cook till soft and bacon is at limp stage. Drain off all bacon grease but about 1 tablespoon is what I like this can be adjusted due to diet and taste. Turn up heat to med-high and add chicken broth, lemon juice, pepper, salt, garlic, sugar, vinegar or wine. At this time add about 2 cups of water and heat till almost boiling. Add green beans with just enough extra water to cover beans and heat to boiling then reduce heat to simmer and cook app 30 minutes or to softness of bean you like. Take your corn starch and blend with cold water and add slowly to beans while stirring till liquid is at the stage you like.

    Now if you’re like me once in a while I like to as Emeril says like to kick my dishes up a notch. For this dish and how I ended up with the base for this recipe (because I was tired of plain ole green beans) in the first place is as follows. Instead of the pepper strips add a can of Rotel mild diced tomatoes and green chilies at the same time you add chicken broth and other ingredients.

    Broil a chicken breast and some of these green beans along with a fresh hot slice of cornbread and your set for an awesome and tasty dinner.

    November 18, 2012

Leave a Reply

