Skip to content

Reuben for Breakfast

Last weekend I encountered an unexpected treat at one of the least likely places.  I was visiting my parents at Lake of the Ozarks and went with dad Saturday morning for our traditional diner breakfast.

Now, good eatin’ is not something you count on around the lake, especially in the less populated areas like where my parents live. It’s normally the bowling alley’s café, Trails End, or Chances R – which is really just a room on the side of a dive bar that doesn’t have liquor bottles stacked on the shelves.

Sometimes these places are decently good, other times you just grin and bear it. So when Dad told me we were headed to the Wee Chef Diner, I figured I would end up with a sloppy, greasy Denver omelette and overcooked hashbrowns.

To my surprise, the cozy little place with the emerald green plush carpet (pretty sure it’s the same kind I picked out for my parents living room in the early 90s) had a creative selection of breakfast omelettes.…and yummy biscuits and gravy too!

My decision was between the Philly Cheese Steak or a Reuben omelette. Of course, I had to go with my favorite and was totally pleased the result.

The Reuben omelette came served atop two slices of rye toast. The thin outer egg layer was wrapped around corned beef, sauerkraut and melty swiss cheese. It was topped off with – you guessed it – Thousand Island Dressing.

It was simple, yet completely satisfying. Something I think I’m gonna try at home soon. Just goes to show you, keep your mind open. You never know what pleasant surprises you may find at a small town diner or anywhere.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

