Skip to content

Killer Kale Salad

My new-found healthy food love affair is with Kale! I’ve long known the hearty green was good for me, even termed a “super food”. But it was just this spring that I found a fantastic and easy way to enjoy it.

I had tried a few bouts with kale many years back and it wasn’t too tasty. So when I recently found a bag of the freshly cut green at Trader Joe’s, I tossed it into the cart hoping I would be able to find a better preparation than I last tried.

Just a few weeks ago I wrote about a phenomenal kale salad I had at Sheridan’s Unforked. That was my goal! As good as all the food was at Sheridan’s Unforked, the kale salad had been stuck in my mind for weeks! I wanted more!!

I searched some online recipes and found a few that looked good. I settled on the one closest to what I recalled as being so wonderfully delicious. What I read on this blog site was to “massage” the kale and it would wilt and get softer.  I dug both hands into the pile of kale doused with olive oil and started rubbing! It worked like magic. The stiff green leaves started to relax and become limp. In fact, the squishing, squeezing and strangling of the bouncy green was rather therapeutic after a long day!

I mixed up a high quality olive oil with juice from a freshly squeezed lemon, added my favorite Paula Deen’s House Seasoning and whisked it together. After tossing it all together, I grated parmigiano reggiano on top and threw in some pine nuts. Oh so yummy! 

Salad:
1 bunch curly kale, chopped thinly
1 small jar pine nuts (no need to toast)
1/2 cup shredded parmesan cheese
salt and pepper, to taste

Dressing:
1 lemon, juiced
1/3 cup olive oil

A few days later, I tried this recipe that uses mango and pumpkin seeds. Sweeter, but still fresh and healthy! If you have a favorite kale preparation, please share. I look forward to many more wonderful salads and sides using this superfood.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. That looks so healthy and full of goodness.

    April 24, 2012
  2. You should try kale chips! They are pretty easy to do, just bake in the oven for 10 mins at 325 with a little olive oil and seasonings.

    April 24, 2012
  3. I just attended a training that featured kale chips last week! They were great! Trying to decide what seasoning to use. Good ole salt and pepper should work great!

    April 25, 2012
    • Lindsey Jones #

      Melissa this salad looks wonderful! When I make kale chips at home I use garlic salt, pepper and red pepper flakes (a little olive oil). It’s always nice to find a delicious way to eat a super food!

      April 25, 2012

Leave a comment