Skip to content

It’s Here….KC Restaurant Week!

Just a quick post before I head out to start my weekend (and the following week) of KC culinary indulgences! Today is the beginning of ten-day event highlighting our city’s chefs and eateries.

Last night someone dismissively told me that “Restaurant Week is just for inexperienced diners…to get them out to try some sub-par fare and fill seats at a slow time of year”. Well I completely disagree with this Negative Nancy and hope she cheers up sometime soon so she can start enjoying life.

Restaurant Week is a celebration of the huge gains KC has made in its dining prowess and the fact we are becoming a culinary destination! This is a time for food-snobs, cocktail kings, food-network newbies and the occasional diner, alike, to support the KC restaurant community and go experience something new or settle into a table at their all-time favorite. This is our town and this is our Restaurant Week. Make the most of it!!

I’ve got nearly as many special food events coming up on the calendar as I do Restaurant Week lunches and dinners. Last night I enjoyed a fantastic dinner featuring Siduri Wines at Starker’s Restaurant on the Plaza. They have an enticing Restaurant Week menu if you’re looking for a romantic spot this week.

Tonight I’m heading to the Vagabond pop-up Saffron Street, featuring Moroccan food. Next week, I will start checking off my Restaurant week visits with lunches at both Tannin and Cafe Sebastienne. Thinking I might try to the burger and mushroom soup at Tannin, or just go off the pre fixe menu and make my own meal! And I’ve heard nearly everything is wonderful at Cafe Sebastienne….so that might be some tough choosing.

As for dinner, I can’t wait to make it back to Gruneaur for some warm, wintery German fare. I’ve only dined there once and look forward to going back to try more dishes. And a spot I’ve had on my list for nearly 15 years!! (That’s so sad to say…). I will finally make it to the storied EBT Restaurant. I’m already torn between the Kobe Beef Pot Roast or the Truffle, Balsamic and Honey Glazed Pork Chop! Wow!

So much wonderful food to be enjoyed! Hope you have plans as fun and as filling as mine! Happy Friday….and may you find your Perfect Bite this weekend!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

