Skip to content

Oops!….I Did it Again

“Bahhhhh-duh-duh!”

That song played through my mind, as if from a nearby radio, as I was delving into those decadently delicious desserts! Oh my….soooo good! Yep, I had done it again – unhealthy food, down the hatch. Just a day later and I fell off the wagon. BUT this time, for a VERY good reason. It was the awe-inspiring, mouth watering, worth the half-hour drive, confectionairy goodness of Dean & Deluca! (“Aaaahhhh”…..I can hear the angels singing in the culinary heavens, can’t you?!?!)

You wouldn’t guess it from reading my posts this week, but I do have a good amount of willpower for a girl that lives and breathes dining and eating. So today it wasn’t a mistake, per se, but rather an “informed decision” that I made about that seductive, bountiful basket of pastries sitting at the end of the serving counter. A basket that I recognized the minute I walked into the room (don’t pretend you don’t know exactly what I’m talking about you catered-lunch regulars). The shallow, oval, dark brown wicker basket lined with black linens and overflowing with my sugary, sweet little friends. And it’s always topped with the most marvelous blueberries and strawberries that bring just the perfect color and freshness to the table  (I ate those too, so that’s healthy right?!). Oh my goodness! No wonder I couldn’t resist! I don’t even talk like this about my favorite pair of shoes (now handbags, that’s another story…hehe)! 

I wasn’t exactly intending to go off the diet, but in reality, I didn’t do THAT badly. It was Friday lunch at one of those standing committee meetings where a boxed lunch is brought in and you file through to grab your choice of salad of sandwich. There’s always an assortment of options, and this morning I had proudly vowed to make it a salad day confident there would be healthy offerings as usual.

But as I approached the food line, there it was. Dean & Deluca’s signature salad was beautifully displayed in large clear bowls, healthily topped with goat cheese, pinenuts and bright red roasted sweet peppers. That’s when my heart skipped a beat and my eyes darted to the right in search of that scandalous dessert basket. It was waiting patiently for me at the end of the counter, plentiful and fresh, choices galore (which was good for the lady in front of me cause I might have tackled her if she tried to take the last macaroon).

Let me tell you about this manna from heaven, in case you’ve never been to the promised land – a.k.a. 119th & Roe where you’ll also find Glace Ice Cream. I am referring to Dean & Deluca’s incomparable chocolate dipped coconut macaroons (not to be confused with their pristine French macarons which are just delightful and you should try those as well). These little gems are a sweet and sticky slice of tropical heaven. The most moist and dense endowment of flavor and delight that can physically be wrapped around shredded coconut! And with a crispy edge.

Macaroons and Macarons

Then there were all the traditional cookies and brownies which I like to consider a very diverse chorus line singing backup to those macaroons – the lead role. It was so hard to choose. There were fudgy brownies, sparkling snickerdoodles, rich blondies and my second delight of the day – a chocolate chocolate chip cookie stocked full of white and dark chunks, soft and chewey!

Now, each of these cookies had been cut in half – a good strategy for the first week of the new year. So really, I only picked up a half macaroon and a half chocolate cookie. In essence, I only consumed one cookie…and those macaroons are kind small at that (wink, wink)!

But as I said, this was totally worth it. I hate to say it, but I had no guilt at all…. just pure enjoyment.

I hope your next catered lunch is from Dean & Deluca. But if it’s not, just go ahead and get your own macaroons….or macarons…..or Cinnamon Babka Bread….or the 3 Women and a Oven cupcakes they carry….or Christopher Elbow Chocolates! Oh my, I have to stop!! Just go there – IT’S SO GOOD!!

But warning – like me, you might soon be singing Britney:

“Cause to lose all my senses…
That is just so typically me.
Oh, baby; baby……I’m not that innocent!”

Good luck!

P.S.  I forgot to mention the Grilled Portabello Veggie Sandwich at lunch was very yummy. Even though the Basil Pesto Chicken Salad and the Ham and Brie were right there in the running. (Don’t worry, I only ate about 1/3 of the bread). Gotta stop….seriously.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. For years I had to go there at least once a week for their peanut butter gellato. I am immune to pastries, but ice cream holds the key to my heart.

    January 10, 2012

Leave a Reply

