Skip to content

Back on Track

It’s healthy eating season again and boy do I need to get back on the straight and narrow! Sometimes it’s easy for me to go cold-turkey cutting out the breads, sugars and dairy in the snap of your fingers. But this week, I really feel the need to ease back into clean eating with some healthy options that still allow me to be creative and enjoy a delicious treat.

Last night I had a craving for Mexican, particularly all the wonderful fatty goodness of a nice guacamole. So I pressure cooked some chicken breasts with onions and herbs then kicked ‘em up with a little taco seasoning. This juicy mixture piled into a low-carb tortilla was the perfect place to try my new Workout Guacamole recipe.

I’m calling it “Workout Guacamole” for 2 reasons. 1) It’s a great option when you’re focused on burning calories to still have a treat…just in a wiser way. But, 2) you have to remember avocados still carry a good amount of fat, which ticks up the calorie counter…. so you STILL need to plan some hard workouts in order to see progress!

You can make this South of the Border treat however sounds best to you. Just take the recipe below and either add an avocado, blend it with your favorite homemade guac recipe, or mix it with a small packet of premade guacamole (I used Wholly Guacamole that was sitting in my fridge). Next time I think I will try it with Trader Joe’s Guacamole Hummus – half the fat of guacamole – and eat it with carrots and celery as a snack!

Workout Guacamole

1 cup cooked green peas (I used frozen peas brought to room temp)
1/4 cup chopped fresh tomato
2 tablespoon (or more) fresh cilantro, chopped, plus extra for garnish
1 tablespoon chopped red onion
1 tablespoon chopped fresh parsley
2 teaspoons fresh lime juice
1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
1 teaspoon garlic salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
3/4 teaspoon Tabasco sauce
Directions:
Combine all the ingredients in a food processor

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

