Skip to content

Sweet Ham-n-Cheese Baby Buns

There are so many delicious dishes around the holidays, it’s hard to pick just one to share. So today, I decided to go with the most recent and one of the easiest.

I’m a big fan of King’s Hawaiian bread. I first discovered it in college as the bread bowl holding some outstanding spinach dip at a Super Bowl party. I got the recipe from my friend and made it for our next gathering. As much as I loved that dip, I couldn’t get over how satisfying the bread was! It was soft and sweet and rich, but substantive enough to hold a big ‘ol hunka dip.

Just a few years ago, I found another savory purpose for the King’s Hawaiian bread, but this time using the sweet dinner rolls. It’s a very simple combination but is always a crowd pleaser. And with all the shopping, parties, wrapping, and cleaning house before family arrives, sometimes a quick basic dish is the exactly what you need!

Sweet Ham-n-Cheese Baby Buns

  • 2 packages King’s Hawaiian sweet rolls
  • 1 large package Land O’ Frost honey ham
  • 1 ½ package shredded mozzarella
  • ½ stick butter, melted
  • 2 Tablespoons yellow mustard
  • 1 ½ Tablespoon Worcester sauce

Using a large serrated bread knife, cut the package of rolls laterally to make buns.

Mix the butter, mustard and Worcester together. Brush half of it onto the inside of the buns.

Layer ham and cheese onto each bun. Use the remaining butter mixture to brush tops of buns.

Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes or until cheese is melted.

please excuse the poor photo - forgot to take the pic till dinner was over

I give out this recipe every time I make it! Try it for your next family gathering, New Year’s party or football watch party.

By the way, the spinach dip I first had with the King’s bread bowl…..you can find the recipe on the back of the package of Knorr’s Vegetable Soup Mix.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Margarita Fuksman #

    I made these last night for my Junior League group and they were a HIT!!!! So quick, easy and delicious! Thanks so much for the tip and the recipe. I will definitely be making these again for get togethers. 🙂

    January 10, 2012

Leave a Reply

