Skip to content

This Week’s Tastings

Well I’m a little embarrassed to admit it, but tonight’s dinner consisted of free samples being handed out in the mall food court! Considering all I’ve been eating lately, it might be  decent diet plan. It strangely worked out very well. I parked by the food court entrance and as I hurried through to finish some Christmas shopping, I got a sample of teryaki chicken, a sub and some orange chicken. Then on my way out I had more of the same. Nothing like dinner served on toothpicks! (By the way, that teryaki chicken from the Japanese place was very good.)

Fortunately, the rest of the week will more than make up for my lackluster psuedo-dinner. Tomorrow is a very big day with both a new adventure and some old favorites.

I’m meeting some girlfriends for lunch at the new Westport Cafe. It’s new to me at least….I sadly have not yet made it there to check out what I hear is pretty good French food. Then the evening holds a wine tasting and Christmas party at two of my favorite culinary neighbors – bluestem and PotPie! I’m already trying to decide if I will order the scallops or the pan-seared chicken. Then again, the fish is always great at PotPie…and there’s, of course, outstanding potpie!

Friday we’ll meet up with friends for a pre-holiday dinner at one of KC’s most unique and delicious fine-dining establishments, Piropos. This Argentine steakhouse is a perfect place to celebrate a special occasion or just grab a fantastic steak. With a gorgeous view of downtown Kansas City and the Briarcliff Village Shoppes lit up like the Plaza, it’s a wonderful place to indulge.

Then on to the fun of the holidays! Saturday morning I plan to make a soup and my favorite deviled eggs to take to the family gathering. If you like garlic, you’ll love my eggs. Just replace the yellow mustard in your recipe with Stonewall Kitchen’s Roasted Garlic Mustard.  It gives it a little kick and a wonderfully rich flavor! Try other mustards too – wasabi or horseradish flavor. Try a few. Perhaps your experiment will turn into your Perfect Bite.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

