Skip to content

New York Restaurant Scene

It might take months to eat my way through New York. The city has more Michelin-starred restaurants than any other location in the US. In fact, seven NYC resaurants are rated at the three-star-level, one of the highest recognitions in the culinary world.  

The question for my trip this weekend is “how much damage can be done in 72 hours?”. Well, it seems we’ll be doing A LOT. I am super excited to have reservations at three of those top seven eateries and those are just the planned meals! We have to fit in New York style pizza, some fantastic brunch and of course a good pub or deli along the way. I know this sounds wildly glutenous, but a girl’s gotta have goals right?!

Jean-Georges Restaurant

At least I’ve got the tougher ones on the books: lunch at  Jean-Georges and dinner at both Eleven Madison Park and Thomas Keller’s Per Se. I’m particularly interested in how Per Se will compare to The French Laundry as it’s still fresh in my mind from dining there last month. Now…. to find those pants with the elastic waistband!

But it seems I’ve got some serious traveling to do if I want to experience the very best gastro-cities. According to a recent story on Michelin Star concentration, the best cities to indulge are in Europe and Japan. http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/08/16/best-restaurant-cities_n_928196.html#s433929&title=13_Marbella_Spain

No matter where I go, I like to try the local favorites as well as finer cuisine. What about you? Where do you travel that the food becomes part of your plan?

Post a coment and let me know. I’m always looking for new places to add to my list!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

