Skip to content

Restaurant Week @ Mio Italian Trattoria

miolasagna

Seems I was just able to work off that last bit of weight I packed on during last year’s Kansas City Restaurant Week, and now here we are again! But don’t think I’m complaining.Miobar

In its fourth year, KC’s Restaurant Week looks to be better than ever with more than 100 restaurants offering pre fixe menus for a $15 lunch or $30 dinner. With 10 full days of dining deals, you can experience a lot of great cuisine.

I kicked off the first day of Restaurant Week at Mio Italian Trattoria in Leawood, and boy did I leave satisfied!

The “coming soon” sign in the development at 135th & Roe had caught my attention several months ago. The small storefront was to become a traditional Italian trattoria. While I don’t get down to that area very often, I knew one day I would surely be dropping in to try it out. Well that day came Friday which just happened to be the first day of restaurant week.Mio

I was running an errand in the shopping center and saw Mio’s sign along with the words OPEN. I checked my watch and decided to take a chance that I could fit the 3-course lunch into a 40-minute slot.

It was just past 1:30pm when I walked in, so I was surprised to see so many people in the dining room. This place was busy. Cozy but roomy, the decor was very inviting and nicely detailed. It’s a place you want to linger and enjoy great conversation with friends.

The offerings for restaurant week were also Mio’s January special. Your choice of soup or salad, any pasta (or their entrée salad), and flourless chocolate cake for dessert. It was a difficult decision between all the pastas – carbonara, angel hair with tomato and basil, linguine Bolognese. But I settled on the lasagna.

MiowineI told the waiter, Jamie, that I was in a bit of hurry and he could bring out the food as soon as it was ready. He was great to keep me on schedule and still provide great service.

Within minutes, my glass of wine was being poured tableside and a Caesar salad was in front of me. The salad was very fresh with a generous amount of romaine lettuce. The crunchy greens were tossed in a subtle Caesar dressing, not drowning in it like too many restaurants. Crunchy housemade croutons and a little parmesan topped it off. It was delightful!

miosaladMy lasagna arrived just as I was finishing the salad. Baked in a lovely oval dish with tomatoes and cream peaking from beneath the surface, the aroma was equally enticing as the appearance. My first bite was heavenly. The blend of sugo with light noodles and creamy cheeses was amazing! The lasagna was more rich than I had expected and I was loving it! I had to find out what was inside.miocloselasagna

Lucky for me, Executive Chef and owner Julian Viso came by my table. I asked what cheeses were in the lasagna, expecting to hear about some mascarpone or another decadent variety. I was surprised to learn it was simply mozzarella and parmesan. However, the wonderful richness came from a homemade bechamel! Topped with fresh herbs, this lasagna was something I would definitely come back for.

I also got a taste of Mio’s fantastic Bolognese sauce. Packed with meat in a wonderful tomato sauce, there was just a hint of cream. It gave the sauce the perfect texture, and the spices were just right for my palate.Miobolognese

Talking with Chef Viso, I learned the trattoria would not be his only venture into the KC restaurant scene. Pizzeria Mio is set to open just a few doors down later this year, and he has other eateries in the works as well. Trained as a chef in the 80′s then going on to a career in the financial industry, the Mio concept is Chef Viso’s vision for his retirement years. Personally, I’m looking forward to experiencing more of his delicious cuisine.

The meal was completed with a beautifully presented flourless chocolate cake. Much lighter than I expected, the warm dessert was a complimentary finish to the rich entrée I had devoured.miodessert

So much for getting off a couple more pounds in January….Restaurant Week means it’s time to indulge! That’s definitely something you will want to do at Mio Italian Trattoria.

Mio – an Italian trattori
4800 W. 135th Street
Leawood, KS 66209

http://www.mio-leawood.com/index.html

Phone: 913-685-9646

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 348 other followers

